Safe Journey, Octavia, Wherever You Are

If you follow fantasy and science fiction books, you’ve probably have heard that Octavia E. Butler, the preeminent African American female science fiction writer, passed away over the weekend at age 58.

I thought it would be a nice memorial to her if I plugged her books. Here’s a list of her book-length writings. If you have never read her before, consider picking up one of these books and giving her a try. Fledgling, her most recent book, should be easy to find in bookstores and libraries everywhere, since it was just published a couple of months ago. A copy of the book is in my reading pile right now. I’m sorry I didn’t read it sooner, but that’s the wonderful thing about authors. Even after they have left us, their worlds are still here for us to explore…

Parable of the Sower
1. Parable of the Sower (1993)
2. Parable of the Talents (1998)

1. Patternmaster (1976)
2. Mind of My Mind (1977)
3. Survivor (1978)
4. Kindred (1979)
5. Wild Seed (1980)
6. Clay’s Ark (1984)

1. Dawn (1987)
2. Adulthood Rites (1988)
3. Imago (1989)

Nonseries fiction:
Bloodchild and Other Stories (1995) [anthology]
Fledgling (2005)
Lilith’s Brood (2000)

Comments are closed.